Skip to main content


The ACM SIGecom Test of Time Award, 2016.  Recognizes papers published between 10 and 25 years ago that have had “significant impact on research or applications that exemplify the interplay of economics and computation.”  Awarded for the paper co-authored with John J. Bartholdi III (Georgia Tech), entitled “Single Transferable Vote Resists Strategic Voting.”

The Harold Larnder Prize, 2013. The Canadian Operations Research Society awards this prize annually to an individual who has achieved international distinction in operational research.

IEEE Bennett Prize, 2011. This prize is given annually to the best original paper published in any journal financially sponsored or co-sponsored by the Communications Society in the previous three calendar years; for the paper "Oblivious Routing of Highly Variable Traffic in Service Overlays and IP Backbones," co-authored with Murali Kodialam, T. V. Lakshman, and Sudipta Sengupta.

INFORMS Koopman Prize, 2008. Named after Bernard Koopman, and awarded by the Military Application Society for the outstanding publication in military operations research. The award was for the paper "Exact and Heuristic Algorithms for the Weapon-Target Assignment Problem", co-authored with Ravi Ahuja, Arvind Kumar and Krishna Jha.

IEEE Leonard G. Abraham Prize, 2008. Given annually to the best original paper published in IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications in the past year. For the paper “Preconfiguring IP-over-Optical Networks to Handle Router Failures and Unpredictable Traffic”, co-authored with Murali Kodialam, T. V. Lakshman, and Sudipta Sengupta. Journal on Selected Areas in Communications Vol. 25, No. 5, June 2007, 934 – 948.

INFORMS Computing Society Prize, 2007. Given annually for the best publication on the interface of Operations Research and Computer Science. For the paper “On the Sum-of-Squares Algorithm for Bin Packing” with Janos Csirik, David Johnson, Claire Kenyon, Peter Shor, and Richard Weber.  Journal of the Association of Computing Machinery 53 (2006), 1-65.

MacVicar Faculty Fellow, 2007-2017. Award honors “exemplary and sustained contributions to the teaching and education of undergraduates at MIT.”

INFORMS Fellow, 2006. The Fellow Award recognizes members who have made significant contributions to the advancement of operations research and the management sciences, such contributions including service to the professional field and to INFORMS.

EXPLOR Award, 2004. For exemplary performance and leadership in online marketing research, as well as highlight innovative applications in online marketing research initiatives. Awarded by the American Marketing Association. Joint with Ely Dahan, John Hauser and Michael Yee.

Lanchester Prize, 1993. Awarded by the Operations Research Society of America for the best paper or book in Operations Research for the year. Awarded for the book Network Flows, co-authored with Ravindra K. Ahuja and Thomas L. Magnanti.

Presidential Young Investigator Award, 1985-1990. Awarded by the National Science Foundation.

Fulbright Research Grant, 1984-1985. Given by the Netherlands Fulbright Commission.

Co-winner of the 1981 Dissertation Prize sponsored by the Transportation Group of the Operations Research Society of America.

Co-winner of the 1978 George E. Nicholson, Jr. Student Paper Competition sponsored by the Operations Research Society of America (Paper [4]).

Finalist of the 1977 Student Paper Competition.

  • James B. Orlin

    E. Pennell Brooks (1917) Professor in Management

    MIT Sloan School of Management

    100 Main Street

    Cambridge, MA 02142

    Office Number E62-570
    Phone Number (617) 253-6606

    Support Staff

    Naomi Stephen

    (617) 324-7328
  • Connect with James